A vegetarian diet effectively lowers heart disease and stroke risk

Date: March 5, 2015
Source: American Heart Association
Summary: A pro-vegetarian diet that emphasizes a higher proportion of plant-based foods compared to animal-based foods may help lower the risks of dying from heart disease and stroke by up to 20 percent, according to a large-scale study. Researchers suggest that substituting some of the meat in your diet with vegetables may be a simple way to lower the risk of heart-related death.
Related articles found at this link (science daily website)
6 Comments

  1. March 6, 2015 at 5:28 am

    […] Source: b […]

  2. April 2, 2015 at 11:01 pm

    Interesting facts…I have been a Vegetarian for about 30 years now. I don’t eat mean or chicken but I do eat fish a couple of times each week, mostly salmon. My diet suits me and I am healthy and energetic…I don’t miss having meat in my diet, never have, and likely never will. Yet some people still try to convince me that I “need” meat.

  3. April 2, 2015 at 11:03 pm

    whoops…that was supposed to be “meat” not “mean”! BTW…thanks for visiting and following my blog. I will be back to read more of yours.

    • LScott said,

      April 3, 2015 at 2:04 am

      That’s awesome, glad you’re so dedicated to it! I haven’t eaten any meat in 11 years.. I don’t care to have it and I don’t miss it. I’m healthier now than when I ate meat and the impact is has on one’s consciousness is continuously beneficial. So after thirty years of a mostly plant-based diet, how do you feel?

      • April 3, 2015 at 6:34 pm

        Healthy and light in body…meat tends to take longer to be process and break down in the body…just image meat sitting in the stomach for a long period of time in intense heat, waiting to be processed. It’s equivalent to leaving meat to rot in the hot sun!


Leave a Reply

