Zombie Apocalypse!!!

Zombie Apocalypse!!!

In the spirit of Halloween, my kids wanted me to tell everyone about the zombie apocalypse. These zombies are a little different than the traditional human eating zombies. These zombies don’t eat humans, instead, they eat animals!

About eight years ago I decided to stop eating meat. The reason I decided to stop is because I don’t want to have to kill. As my sons Brior and Elijah have gotten older, they began inquiring about why I don’t eat meat. I explained to them that I don’t want animals to die when there is no good reason for them to have to die. I told them that we have access to plenty of plant-based foods and there is no need to kill. I explained that a vegetarian diet is good for our health when balanced properly and that the animals don’t have to die. I went on to tell them that it was my choice to abstain from eating meat and that they could eat it if they wanted to.

When my sons found out that meat is dead animal muscles, they were disgusted. It all seemed so strange to them. They asked me why people kill animals and eat their dead bodies. I told them that people do it because meat tastes good. But that wasn’t a good enough reason as far as they were concerned. Eating dead animals was a disgusting reality that they found themselves exposed to. I told them that if they had no other food options, such as in a survival situation for example, then it would be okay to eat animals to survive. However, with the grocery stores being full of plant based foods, there is no need to eat meat. I explained to them that most people are brought up eating meat and that most people don’t really think about it too much.

It was after this that the kids started saying that people were like zombies eating the dead. It sounds kind of weird putting it like that, but the reality of it is sadly accurate. Is it really necessary to eat the dead in order to sustain the life of the body? Trillions and trillions of animals are killed every year for consumption. Is it necessary?

I grew up eating meat. Most everyone I know eats meat. I don’t expect everyone to stop eating meat after reading this, but in my opinion, it is completely unnecessary to eat the dead. Eating the muscles of dead animals is not necessary for survival nor is it recommended for longevity. People eat meat because it tastes good, that’s how most of us were raised, and society is set up to cater to meat eaters, so it’s convenient. But it’s time to think and to live in a manner that is free of killing. Even if we are ordering a burger at McDonald’s, we are taking from the supply of meat thereby causing a demand for more. In this way, all people who eat meat play their role in the death of countless animals. It is time for us to transcend this primitive way of life and ascend into a more harmonious state of existence wherein we create a non-violent equilibrium with our environment. When will the killing end?

In my opinion, if you want to eat meat, then you should have to kill the animal yourself. Clean the animal, prepare it, and eat it. Perhaps then more appreciation will be considered for the lives that are being taken. Don’t eat the dead! Zombies aren’t cool. 

9 Comments

  1. Bebe Butler said,

    October 12, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    …nice article…went vegetarian about 15 years back when I learned what a factory farm was…never want to be a “zombie” again…I will say the vegetarian diet can be delicious, especially if you enjoy cooking and explore ethnic cuisine….

    • lukescott313 said,

      October 12, 2012 at 6:18 pm

      definately! i love east indian food the most 🙂 factory farms are horrible. i intend to write more about that aspect of it for sure.

  2. sowninpeace said,

    October 14, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    I must laugh at this, dispite the fact i strongly disagree with the teaching of zombies, you have a great point. I have in the past caught killed skinned and cooked animals deer, fish, even rabbit, shellfish. Now I do belive that there is a new level of understanding when you do have you dinner this way. But with the advent of health concerns i have gone vegitarian…..not with wiithout protest mind you, but now that i have gone into gardening i do enjoy it alot more. I must say – its the sort of the same feeling ….getting things right from nature…in an honourable self sastaining way.

    • sowninpeace said,

      October 14, 2012 at 1:45 pm

      P.s thanks for following Rogue Pastry Chef 🙂

    • lukescott313 said,

      October 15, 2012 at 9:15 pm

      lol zombies are definately teaching some crazy stuff 🙂 glad to hear you`re on a plant-based diet! definately a good choice! 🙂

  3. cyberbonn said,

    October 14, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    Bravo! GR8 post.

  4. October 16, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    Love this post and the response of your kids! I’ve been a vegetarian for about 35 years or so, and my son who is 15 has never had meat. My decision to be a vegetarian was the same as yours. I don’t want others to die to sustain me. I so appreciate your thoughtful approach to this topic!

    • lukescott313 said,

      October 16, 2012 at 3:44 pm

      Glad you made that decision! Yea i didn’t feel right knowing that all the animals had to die when its completely unnecessary. Knowing how they run slaughterhouses only added to my desire to abstain. Thanks for reading 🙂


Leave a Reply

